Correct Suppressor Clearance

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

chap660

Correct Suppressor Clearance

Post by chap660 »

I am new to suppressors and this forum, so I would imagine this question has come up before. I submitted my tax stamp app in April and hopefully will get it soon. My first build will be fairly basic for .243 Win, using 34.3 mm freeze plugs as baffles. QUESTION: Is there a standard or optimum over-drill/clearance for the baffle passage? The clearance or gap between the bullet and the passage or tunnel it travels through? I have been advised that a good standard would be .026 mm gap or over-drill from the actual bullet size = a .269 passage for the .243. I have found two bits that are very close: a letter "I" bit at .2720 giving .029 clearance - or - a "H" bit at .2660 giving .023 clearance.

If this project works well, I plan a later, longer, over-barrel .308 suppressor using a 8,5 metric bit at .3346, giving .0266 clearance.

This is of course a pretty critical part of the build, soooo --- Am I stumbling down the right path here ??
joe0121
Senior Silent Operator

Re: Correct Suppressor Clearance

Post by joe0121 »

.060 is generally recommended. For example on my .308 can that would be a bore diameter of 368. since a reamer of that size would have to be custom made I got a .375 reamer. You could also possibly find a metric reamer close to the bore diameter you want. Or you could use a boring bar to machine to the diameter your want.
Scared_of_zombies
Silent But Deadly

Post by Scared_of_zombies »