Clipping design idea.

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

TheBlueFox

Clipping design idea.

Post by TheBlueFox »

Hi all. I am new to the suppressor world as our state just passed a law allowing them. That being said take it easy on me being a noob. I'm trying to absorb as mush info as I can.

I am going to do a m baffle design. From what I have gathered a clipped cone is more effective due to the turbulence it creates. The general design is a slot cut with an end mill most using a ball end.
My thinking is what if you used a two radius approach to it? So instead of creating a u shaped channel you had an m shape or a widows peak. It would be the same width as the u but two seperate radius for for turbulence. I even thought that if you tipped the end mill 20* on each side opposing each other it may direct the flow out into the chamber more churning things up more.

Do you think there is any gain in this or would there be too much speed and flow that it would make any difference? Or would the single radius be so abrupt that it would be more effective than the two radius design?
whiterussian1974
Silent But Deadly

Re: Clipping design idea.

Post by whiterussian1974 »

So a tooth sticking up between the 2 slots? Wouldn't that create an obstructive blockage instead of allowing maximal throughput?

I don't know. But you could always try it and then remove the spike if it doesn't perform to your satisfaction. :)
The Darkest Corners of Hell are reserved for those who remain Neutral!-Dante
The Death of One is a Tragedy, a million only a statistic.-Stalin
silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=135314
mcmaster

Post by mcmaster »