Baffle cone skirt to tube wall clearance

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

savageshooter81

Baffle cone skirt to tube wall clearance

Post by savageshooter81 »

I used the search feature and the only thing I found was a thread mentioning that several people before had recommended .005 total diameter clearance. The tube OD is 1.500 and the ID is 1.367. What is considered the recommended clearance range for the baffle skirt to inner tube wall? This will be for a .30 caliber. Was also thinking to cut the baffle holes @ .050 bigger than the caliber of bullet being shot (.308=.358). All advice is appreciated as I am far from an expert.

Thanks
fishman
Silent But Deadly

Re: Baffle cone skirt to tube wall clearance

Post by fishman »

savageshooter81 wrote:I used the search feature and the only thing I found was a thread mentioning that several people before had recommended .005 total diameter clearance. The tube OD is 1.500 and the ID is 1.367. What is considered the recommended clearance range for the baffle skirt to inner tube wall? This will be for a .30 caliber. Was also thinking to cut the baffle holes @ .050 bigger than the caliber of bullet being shot (.308=.358). All advice is appreciated as I am far from an expert.

Thanks
.358 is a good diameter. A ratio of about 1.18:1 is common for silencer bores. Longer silencers sometimes open that up a little to prevent baffle strikes. The bigger the bore the better the accuracy and poi shift, the tighter the bore, the better performance.
300 blackout form 1: http://www.silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=137293

5.56 form 1:
http://www.silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=141800&p=955647#p955647
propeine
Silent But Deadly

Post by propeine »