First timer with a few questions

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

SynnTX

First timer with a few questions

Post by SynnTX »

Good evening all. This is my first post here and I'm excited to absorb y'alls combined knowledge! Recently I acquired my very first Form 1 stamp and built a 300blk SBR. I also purchased a SiCo Hybrid and should (hopefully) receive my stamp any day now. This mostly came about after rumors started that my agency (I work as a patrolman for a medium sized Sheriff's office in Texas) was considering adopting (adding) 300blk, SBRs, and suppressors to our rifle policy, which currently only allows for .223/5.56 on an AR platform with a 16" barrel requirement. Then the rumor turned into action, and we're expecting the new policy any day now. Personally, I think 300blk is the perfect rifle cartridge for law enforcement but I digress. I'm not a terribly inexperienced gunsmith, but have recently had the desire to form 1 a suppressor after realizing how cost efficient it can be. I want to make a dedicated can for my new work rifle. I have my reasons, but I plan on running supersonic suppressed. Plus, I like to tinker with gun stuff. I've done a bit of research and have some questions I'm hoping to get answered.

- I've heard you have to submit a design sketch or something along with the Form 1, this true? If so, is there any specific rules or can it be done on construction paper with crayon?