Starting a new can, titanium

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

mr fixit
Silent But Deadly

Starting a new can, titanium

Post by mr fixit »

Just starting a new can. This one will be titanium tube and ends, welded, with stainless baffles, it will be 1.625" OD. I've never worked titanium before, and in fact are still new to machining. This is the end cap.

http://imgur.com/wItvrKe

http://imgur.com/Jv4RicV
ECCO Machine
Silent But Deadly

Re: Starting a new can, titanium

Post by ECCO Machine »

mr fixit wrote:titanium tube and ends, welded...... I've never worked titanium before, and in fact are still new to machining.
Do your homework on Ti welding; it's not like steel or aluminum. You have to fully shield the HAZ until it drops below 800°F or you embrittle the metal.
FFL07/02SOT Gunsmith & Machinist
garredondojr
Silent But Deadly

Post by garredondojr »

looks good to me.

I've never played with it either but when I was thinking of trying it most mentioned fast feeds and heavy cuts to keep the heat in the chip rather the tool or work piece or it could burnish/gall and harden.
Last edited by garredondojr on Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:51 am, edited 3 times in total.
ECCO Machine
Silent But Deadly

Post by ECCO Machine »

garredondojr wrote:looks good to me.

I've never played with it either but when I was thinking of trying it most mentioned deep and heavy cuts to keep the heat in the chip rather or it could burnish/gall and harden.