Clipping gap size??

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

lb2910

Clipping gap size??

Post by lb2910 »

Hello all... I'm a newbie to this forum from the east coast and have a question regarding clipping gap dimensions for certain calibers...

I have several suppressors, both form 1 and form 4. I've converted an MST with threaded baffles into a suppressor for a 9mm. This will be the first one I've decided to clip. My question is, for a 9mm, is there a best practice when it comes to the actual clip dimensions (W and D) for a 9mm hole? If so, what would they be?

I will be using a modified drill press with end mills to perform the clipping. The modification allows me to do very light-weight and simple milling. I have an XY cross vice to help with accuracy of the clipping as well. The clip I plan on doing is symmetrical (a clip on both sides of the baffle).

Lastly a bonus question.. HAHA... Since the clips will not be lined up due to the threaded baffles, would you bother clipping? I'm more concerned about POI shift to be honest, but I do want to get the most out of my Form 1 w/o losing accuracy. I've shot this particular suppressor for over a year and it's spot on and fairly quiet. Just looking to improve its performance and thought this would be perfect forum to ask for ideas. Thanks to anyone that gives me some guidance... stay safe and healthy!!!
whiterussian1974
Silent But Deadly

Re: Clipping gap size??

Post by whiterussian1974 »

I have heard 40% bore width, 100% bore depth.
So for 9mm @ .375" (3/8") that means 3/8" deep and .15" wide.
But I'm not very experienced with this. I'm just passing what others have posted.
Hopefully, a machinist or frequent poster can critique my suggestion.