Where to learn...

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

Ziess

Where to learn...

Post by Ziess »

Hello All,

This forum is amazing and is really starting to cost me a lot of money. I'd like to learn how to work with metal on a lathe and submit a form 1.

My question is, how did you all learn to use metal lathes? Where can one go to learn? Community College? Find a mentor?

Thanks for helpin' the newb.
David Hineline
Silent But Deadly

Community college night school for me

Post by David Hineline »

My mother was a machinist by trade, old enough to have been a woman in a bomb making factory durring WW2 when the men were all gone off to war, that is where she learned the trade.

I never was interested in it, untill I could not afford to pay to have the work I wanted done on guns. 7yrs of night school just to use thier equipment, when the school closed I had to buy my own.
NFA shooters blow their load with only one pull of the trigger.
Paledaddy
Elite Member

Post by Paledaddy »

A very nice page with alot of stuff about mills and lathes and the operation etc.

www.mini-lathe.com
www.mini-mill.com

Not the large stuff, but alot of good info befor you buy a lathe and how to do the main functions.

Otherwise i recomend a handbook, there's alot of em out there..

Pd
[b]Bas Rutten[/b] [quote]" I'm sorry Sir..... BANG ! BANG ! BANG !... No I'm not. "[/quote]
jonharoy
Elite Member

Post by jonharoy »

Ziess

Post by Ziess »

Looks like my local Community College has machining classes. Only $225 for 11 weeks 4 hours a week. I'm going to give that a shot and see if I want to continue. Thanks for all the links
Zephyr
Swift Silent Deadly

Post by Zephyr »