Beer cap baffles for .22lr??

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

PostalGlock'n

Beer cap baffles for .22lr??

Post by PostalGlock'n »

Greeting all. This is my first post here.

I have been gleening knowledge and debating going the Form 1 way soon. Either a .22lr or 9mm AR can would be my first attempt.

Anyway, here I am drinking a cold one, reading over some interesting concepts on the freeze plug route. I don't know if it was in jest, but I think it was Subsonic who commented on using aluminum can bottoms for a .22 can in the future. I look down at the cap off my beer. It is a touch over 1", could be compressed to fit and would form well with the ball bearing method.

Please be gentle with me (like I said, it is my first time). Just a thought, or maybe just too many of the cold beer. (I am going to start popping the tops gently so not to deform too much.) :wink:
ghostdog662
Silent But Deadly

Re: Beer cap baffles for .22lr??

Post by ghostdog662 »

Due to the ridges on the bottle cap, thin thickness of the cap, questionable metal used to make them and uncertain concentricity, they make poor candidates.
LP
wolf
Silent But Deadly

Post by wolf »

If you where at a place where you didnt had to pay the $200 tax stamp , would say , try , just for the fun of it

but the $200 tax stamp really takes the fun part away

You still have to make the tube and endcaps and threading
better to make it right the first time
doubloon
Silent But Deadly

Post by doubloon »

Stamped and pre-drilledit might make a durable "wipe" but it seems hardly worth the effort.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDtd2jNIwAU MUSAFAR!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CrOL-ydFMI This is Water DavidW