Expansion chamber ratio differences in monocore vs k baffle

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

eseaton
Silent But Deadly

Expansion chamber ratio differences in monocore vs k baffle

Post by eseaton »

I am no engineer but am interested in how the different sizes of expansion chambers affect performance and how these differences compare in monocores vs. k style baffles.
I know this is elementary to the experts but would appreciate an explaination.

Thank you.

eseaton
Last edited by eseaton on Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
From the Foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains
ghostdog662
Silent But Deadly

Re: Expansion chamber ration differences in monocore vs k ba

Post by ghostdog662 »

An important consideration is barrel length. Longer the barrel = the smaller the expansion chamber you can get away with. When you look at commercial cans they design around the shortest length you will be placing them on for safety.

What caliber in-particular were you looking at ? Rifle / Pistol? Subsonic / full load etc.
LP
eseaton
Silent But Deadly

Re: Expansion chamber ration differences in monocore vs k ba

Post by eseaton »

ghostdog662 wrote:An important consideration is barrel length. Longer the barrel = the smaller the expansion chamber you can get away with. When you look at commercial cans they design around the shortest length you will be placing them on for safety.

What caliber in-particular were you looking at ? Rifle / Pistol? Subsonic / full load etc.