Critique my 22LR design Updated 7-25-2012

Yes, it can be legal to make a silencer. For everything Form-1, from silencer designs that are easily made, to filing forms with the BATF, to 3D modeling. Remember, you must have an approved BATF Form-1 to make a silencer. All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

sst4270

Critique my 22LR design Updated 7-25-2012

Post by sst4270 »

Hello all,

Please critique my design. It was inspired by SBR's post. Since I'm an mech engineer by profession I couldn't help but do a full 3D work up.
Awaiting Form 1 so I wanted to get as much feedback as possible prior.

Some questions I have in particular:
Bore size is currently @ 0.240". I think that will be too small. SEE UPDATE
1/2" - 28 barrel thread is only 0.375" engagement. I think that is also too short. I should probably lengthen that to at least 1/2". SEE UPDATE

A couple of other things:
I noticed a couple of typos. Please don't be too harsh on those.
The K-baffles will be hard coat anodized
Calculated weight is coming in just under 8 oz.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Regards,

SST

REV. B: Updated the drawings based on your feedback.
Removed spacer, added "snout" to inside of outer endcap, increased bore to 17/64 (optional: increase bore in stepped increments from baffle 1 to baffle 7)
Overall length has shortened by approx. 3/8", increased length of 1/2-28 threads for more engagement onto barrel.

REV. C: Updated the drawings based on your feedback.
Added chamfer to snout on outer endcap directing gasses internally
Shortened last k-baffle to fit inside outer endcap - This shortened the OAL again. (This is about as short as I can go because this is being built to go onto a Tacsol SB-X barrel. If I shorten the suppressor much more I won't be able to install/remove it by hand easily.)
Added a little meat to the 'waist'.
Changed material of outer endcap to aluminum.