~$1,000 1911 host weapon....suggestions?

Questions and answers, photos, videos, and discussion.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

ol' 30-30

~$1,000 1911 host weapon....suggestions?

Post by ol' 30-30 »

Looking for a 1911 to run with my Tirant 45. ~1,000 (including threaded barrel...thats the kicker). $1,200 would be about my absolute top. I know my budget is going to limit me but can yall point me in a direction. I wish kimber sold a model with a factory threaded barrel. Want a fullsize. I've been looking at the Sig Tac Ops TB and the Scorpion TB. I just decided this week my USP 45 isn't doing it for me. I'm new to the 1911 world. first gun i ever bought was a Springfield mill spec 1911 years and tears ago but I sold it off (still regret it). Are those sigs good 1911's? I own a 226 9mm and love it. Doesn't have to be new so if I can get into a nicer used gun (in great shape) that wouldn't be an issue for me also.
Some people are like slinkies......not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.
chrismartin
Silencertalk Goon Squad

Re: ~$1,000 1911 host weapon....suggestions?

Post by chrismartin »

The Sig's and the Remington R1 Enhanced TB are your only options at that price level.

The Remington (if you can find one or order one) has tall sights, which is a plus.

I'd be getting the Sig Scorpion TB if I were you. I like the FDE/Tan color. If you are more partial to black, to Tac Ops TB.
I run flat triggers in all my 1911's and I like the rail.

Well, If _I_ were buying, I'd get the "carry" version.

There really isn't too many FACTORY threaded barrel models without going custom.
A possible "cheaper" route would be to find a Ruger SR1911 (or a cheaper Rock Island or something) and buy a Storm Lake (or Jarvis, etc) barrel and have it fitted.
$700 or so for the pistol, $250 for the barrel and installed. You aren't really saving much unless you really get a deal on the 1911.
karb

Post by karb »