Sig predicament

Questions and answers, photos, videos, and discussion.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

Gjboor89

Sig predicament

Post by Gjboor89 »

Im new to sigs. I want a .40 for home defense, but also would like to have a 9mm for range use and running suppressed. How well do the 9mm threaded conversion kits work? Are they realiable? Is it a good choice to choose the .40 and a conversion kit. Or just fork out the $ and get both cartridges
Bendersquint
Industry Professional

Re: Sig predicament

Post by Bendersquint »

Gjboor89 wrote:Im new to sigs. I want a .40 for home defense, but also would like to have a 9mm for range use and running suppressed. How well do the 9mm threaded conversion kits work? Are they realiable? Is it a good choice to choose the .40 and a conversion kit. Or just fork out the $ and get both cartridges
You are good to go with the conversion kits.

I use 9mm for HD, no need to go bigger than that in my opinion. If you can't put an intruder down with a few 9mm then you shouldn't be using a gun for HD.
chrismartin
Silencertalk Goon Squad

Post by chrismartin »

I agree with Bendersquint.

I have a sig P229 in .40. I have a barsto conversion barrel to shoot 9mm. Actually I have two of them. One threaded and one not threaded.

I have had nothing but problems with the factory 40 barrel that shipped with it. A ton of failure to ejects. I have replaced all the ejection parts with no help.
The conversion barrel, on the other hand has been 100% perfect (both of them). So, to answer your question, conversion barrels can be perfectly reliable.

I don't like .40 at all. I am very inconsistent with it, just all over the target. With 9mm (and also with .357sig) I am very consistent and perfectly hey with my groups.

Modern 9mm hollow points are great. Winchester Ranger, Honady critical defense (and critical duty) gold dots, etc. all great for home and personal defense.