45Osprey Disappointment, Am I expecting too much?

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

swapmeet

45Osprey Disappointment, Am I expecting too much?

Post by swapmeet »

Let me start by explaining that i'm quite new to suppressors.
I ordered a Sparrow and a 45 Osprey based solely off of extensive internet research.

My host is a 4" Kimber 1911 (4.5" now). I had a STI barrel threaded and modified to fit.
I've only run 50-75 rounds through my can so far, and its been run dry.

Since I have no experience I obviously don't know what to expect... so please don't flame me too hard for this.
I'm only asking because I have quite a bit of money invested into this and after yesterday I don't really want to use the can.

When firing, the report is still painful to my ears. I'm going to try a few varieties of ammo, but thus far i've used Mag tech 230 ball, and 230 ball reloads I purchase and have used for years prior to the suppressor.
Obviously I don't have a SPL meter, but my ears were ringing for a hour after shooting two mags, and had that dull pain consistent with SPL exposure.

Also the blow back i'm experiencing is very uncomfortable. After running two magazines through it yesterday, I didn't want to aim the gun because it was slinging so much hot crap into my face.

The last issue is fouling. Although I think that is to be expected. I'm just amazed how quickly it fouls and how much. Two magazines (8rds ea) and I start having FTF on a gun that had just been cleaned.

I don't expect it to be anywhere near as quiet as my sparrow, but thus far, shooting with the can on is flat out unpleasant.

Hopefully ya'll can share some wisdom or give some suggestions.
Thanks in advance.
samson7x
Silent But Deadly

Re: 45Osprey Disappointment, Am I expecting too much?

Post by samson7x »