Has anyone on here actually "shot out" a silencer?

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

Ecirp

Has anyone on here actually "shot out" a silencer?

Post by Ecirp »

I'm new to the NFA world, I'm waiting on my first F4, but it seems like there's a lot of talk about suppressor durability. While I understand that these are lifetime purchases I have yet to hear of a suppressor actually wearing out through use. It's more often the case that endcap strikes retire the can. I'm curious to hear if durability is a legitimate concern or has material science progressed to the point where as long as you have a can constructed of modern materials (stellite, inconel, etc) you shouldn't have to worry about it wearing out.
Bendersquint
Industry Professional

Re: Has anyone on here actually "shot out" a silencer?

Post by Bendersquint »

Ecirp wrote:I'm new to the NFA world, I'm waiting on my first F4, but it seems like there's a lot of talk about suppressor durability. While I understand that these are lifetime purchases I have yet to hear of a suppressor actually wearing out through use. It's more often the case that endcap strikes retire the can. I'm curious to hear if durability is a legitimate concern or has material science progressed to the point where as long as you have a can constructed of modern materials (stellite, inconel, etc) you shouldn't have to worry about it wearing out.
Rifle cans? Seen a few that had bores over double the size designed. Not stellite though as thats a new thing and hasn't been enough time to have one shot out, the referenced ones were inconcel.

Pistol cans? Lots have been shots out, baffle features destroyed and massive bore erosion.

Rimfire cans? Absolutely.
Ecirp

Post by Ecirp »

Bendersquint wrote: