New to silencers - help please

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

Big Tex

New to silencers - help please

Post by Big Tex »

Ok I have shot silencers one time in my life about 4 years ago at a range. I had no intention of getting into silencers.

Through a series of fortunate events I now have 2. I won in different raffles.

I'm at the point of creating my trust and sending off the forms and tax to the BATFE.

So what do I need to know about this process? Haven't sent any paperwork yet.

The silencers are a Sparrow 22 and a YHM 5.56 Titanium threaded.

What about these silencers do I need to know? I have AR-15, AR-57, 10-22 (not threaded). I don't have any threaded .22.

So, I'm just getting started, any help is appreciated. Thanks.
poikilotrm
Silent But Deadly

Re: New to silencers - help please

Post by poikilotrm »

I own Sparrow and can't recommend it enough. I use a Ruger .22/.45 as a host. It can handle 5.7 and .22 magnum, but nothing heavier.

I did my paperwork on paper, but there is a way to electronically file now. One of the other guys will explain that to you.
The moments I was censored was the moment that I won. That's twice, now.Thanks jwbaker, et al, for my victories.
AlabamaPaul
Silent But Deadly

Post by AlabamaPaul »

poikilotrm wrote:I own Sparrow and can't recommend it enough. I use a Ruger .22/.45 as a host. It can handle 5.7 and .22 magnum, but nothing heavier.

I did my paperwork on paper, but there is a way to electronically file now. One of the other guys will explain that to you.
Electronic filing of Form 4s went away a couple of years ago, and I don't see it coming back anytime soon.
AlabamaPaul
Silent But Deadly

Post by AlabamaPaul »