Newbe Questions

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

squirrel502

Newbe Questions

Post by squirrel502 »

So as the title says, I am a complete newbe to the NFA world and only just got my trust setup. That said, I am really looking for advice and recommendations. Currently I only have 4 items that I would look at suppressing (Bolt 308, AR, CZ Scorpion, and a 10/22). I have no pistols setup with threaded barrels, however, this could change in the future depending upon what I buy. So, the first question is whether I should get caliber specific cans for all 4 rifles, or should I mix it up? I know that I could do something like a Recce 7 for the 308/5.56, a octane 9 or 45 for the CZ, and a sparrow for the 22, but that is a lot of money on suppressors and tax stamps. I could go the Optimus and call it a day, or something like the Omega 30, 9mm can, and a sparrow. I also see very good things from the Omega 9k, but it isn't user serviceable...and I don't know if that is or should be a deal breaker (it does bug me though). I have also thought about the Optimus and a sparrow, as I could keep the Optimus in 30cal 3lug configuration so that I could easily just swap between the AR and the CZ, but again....it is a lot of money and time when not being 100%. And while I live in the suppressor friendly state of VA, there are no place around me that carry any real variety of cans, let alone offer up the ability to try before you buy.
Kanook
Senior Silent Operator

Re: Newbe Questions

Post by Kanook »

I would (I did) get the Liberty Mystic X (now rated for 300 win mag) and a Liberty Regulator for the 22's.

I bought the Mystic (getting it upgraded) for my Ruger 77/357 and 22 rimfire. I couldn't see over my sights, so I bought the Regulator and am very pleased.