Current top of the Heap Rimfire Suppressors 2017

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

dtp

Current top of the Heap Rimfire Suppressors 2017

Post by dtp »

I'm new to the game. Currently have a gm-22 in the pipe (for nearly a year) which is good, but not quite the best. Since NFA wait times are probably going to drop soon, I'm looking at getting another 22lr suppressor.

Research is proving that most cans are pretty good and that effort toward getting the best for say a pistol with a 5.5" barrel may not be well spent?

Ignoring that, I've found the following...

AAC Element 2 - Seems to be top of the heap and light 4 oz
Bowers USS - Again top of the heap, but heavy at 8 oz
El Camino - Close to AAC Element 2 also about 4oz with a titanium version coming?
Rugged Occulous - Can be used in short config and long config, the short working well on rifles and still hearing safe on pistols. But long is for best pistol suppression.

Any other models I'm missing and keeping in mind I'm talking rimfire pistol here with 5.5" or shorter barrels. Factors to consider.

1. Cleaning - seems to be the biggest factor
2. Silencing - reason for getting a can in the first place. First round pop seems to be the biggest issue here.
3. Weight - especially on rimfires like an SR22
4. Durability - Seems not a big deal unless you screw up cleaning...

Sorry I'm new to this but it seems like the amount of suppression that can be achieved has been reached years ago. So cleaning and weight seem to be the areas left to improve. But it's still hard for me to decide on one.
fishman
Silent But Deadly

Re: Current top of the Heap Rimfire Suppressors 2017

Post by fishman »