Piston and spacer or fixed spacer?

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

ghmj07

Piston and spacer or fixed spacer?

Post by ghmj07 »

ATF recently cashed my check for a Rugged Obsidian 45, so while I endure the long wait, I'm going to acquire a couple of accessories. This is my first centerfire suppressor, and I've never used a piston before. It comes with the piston I need for my 45, but I also have a 9mm pistol in 1/2 x 28, and a 9mm carbine in 1/2 x 36.

I'll need a piston for the pistol, but any thoughts on fixed spacer vs piston/spacer for the 9mm in 1/2 x 36? The Rugged fixed spacer looks like it will be about $40 cheaper than buying a piston and spacer. The only advantage I see to the piston/spacer would be if I had or were going to purchase any other 1/2 x 36 hosts that would need a piston.

I'm new to centerfire suppressors, so are there any other factors to consider?

Thanks.
gsyoung54
Silent But Deadly

Re: Piston and spacer or fixed spacer?

Post by gsyoung54 »

ghmj07 wrote:ATF recently cashed my check for a Rugged Obsidian 45, so while I endure the long wait, I'm going to acquire a couple of accessories. This is my first centerfire suppressor, and I've never used a piston before. It comes with the piston I need for my 45, but I also have a 9mm pistol in 1/2 x 28, and a 9mm carbine in 1/2 x 36.

I'll need a piston for the pistol, but any thoughts on fixed spacer vs piston/spacer for the 9mm in 1/2 x 36? The Rugged fixed spacer looks like it will be about $40 cheaper than buying a piston and spacer. The only advantage I see to the piston/spacer would be if I had or were going to purchase any other 1/2 x 36 hosts that would need a piston.

I'm new to centerfire suppressors, so are there any other factors to consider?

Thanks.