Best all around rimfire suppressor for my hosts?

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

lucky strike

Best all around rimfire suppressor for my hosts?

Post by lucky strike »

I'm new to silencers and have been reading here and other forums trying to educate myself. From reading it seems that what your host firearm is can make a real difference on performance.

I've got a Nordic Components (16" barrel) .22lr AR upper and a S&W M&P22 handgun that I'd like to be able to shoot suppressed. In the future I will also be getting a .17hmr bolt gun (likely a Savage) as well that I'd like to use the same silencer on.

My priority of attributes are:

1. Quietness
2. Durability
3. Ease of Cleaning

The M&P gets used the most (well it will get used the most, I just got it two days ago) followed by the Nordic upper and then the bolt gun. As such performance on a pistol would be slightly more important to me then on a semi-auto rifle or bolt gun.

Seems like the Sparrow SS, Element, Spectre and Kodiak are the main choices for rimfire....To help in my decision making process I was just hoping that I could start getting some separation between them based on what I'll be using them on.

Any insight would be much appreciated, Thanks.
JasonM
Silent But Deadly

Re: Best all around rimfire suppressor for my hosts?

Post by JasonM »

lucky strike wrote:Seems like the Sparrow SS, Element, Spectre and Kodiak are the main choices for rimfire....To help in my decision making process I was just hoping that I could start getting some separation between them based on what I'll be using them on.
Any of those 4 will serve you really really well. I'd base my decision on price and what my dealer had in stock.