First Suppressor a Disappointment

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

yeltnarb

First Suppressor a Disappointment

Post by yeltnarb »

I'm a newbie, OK? So, I probably expected too much from the CAN I bought to suppress .22 up through Hornet. I had two LR, one MAG and two Hornets sent for threading. I picked up the first three and rushed home to try them out. I was shocked at how LOUD they were. I called the shop and put a 'stop work' on the two Hornets.

I used standard .22 LR and .22 MAG ammo, and expected to do the same with the Hornets. Is this wrong? Should I have used Sub-Sonic (which I assumed were short range, wimpy 400 fps rounds. Rock are silent, too, you know). I would estimate the report to have been reduced by maybe half, but enough to send my dog running. I do not want to name the manufacturer at this point since it is probably "my bad", but I am heart sick after investing $800 and driving nearly three trips (600 plus miles) to deliver and pick up the barrels. The rifles were Remington 597's, and an old Mossberg Model 51...all autoloaders.

I would appreciate all comments, even the insulting ones. Thanks
poizzin
Silent But Deadly

Re: First Suppressor a Disappointment

Post by poizzin »

Not sure if this helps but a good can will make is fairly quiet , even with standard ammo, there are a few variables also, if you were shooting towards woods or water it will seem louder. Shoot over an open field with and without the can you should her a mjor differance, if not something is not right.

Who is the manufacture of this particuler can you are talking about?
Supressors
AAC - 7
Degroat - 2
AWC - 1
Don Floyd - 1
Tros- 1
HCA- 1
yeltnarb

Post by yeltnarb »