Why are 22. LR cans SO small?

Post your experiences here.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw

zreed042
Silent Operator

Why are 22. LR cans SO small?

Post by zreed042 »

To be honest, I've never really had any first-hand experience with commercial cans, though I've used a couple Form 1 cans now and then. I was at Impact Guns the other day and was blown away by how tiny the 22 Sparrow and (I think) the YHM Mite cans were. I'm no engineer or physicist, but wouldn't making the cans a little bit bigger help suppression levels? I mean, I always thought that the general rule of thumb was "the more volume the better." Is there a point of diminishing returns with a 22. LR suppressor in terms of volume? I mean, I wouldn't mind a substantially larger can if it were to be quieter.
The three S's of gun ownership in the liberal US: Shoot, Shovel, and Shut up.

"Screw the animals, they had just as long to evolve and invent rifles as we did, but the didn't...we win!"
doubloon
Silent But Deadly

Re: Why are 22. LR cans SO small?

Post by doubloon »

Because they don't need to be any bigger.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDtd2jNIwAU MUSAFAR!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CrOL-ydFMI This is Water DavidW
Complete Form 1s http://www.silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=79895
kalikraven
Elite Member

Post by kalikraven »

Spikes Tactifcal use to either make or market a larger diameter rimfire can...
Going a little more discrete here due to some of my opinions...
SuperChuck
Senior Silent Operator

Post by SuperChuck »

Thompson Machine has a CHD model that is beefier, made to mount under the handguard and look more proportional to the rifle.

I think its 1.5" diameter, and 7" long. I have one ordered now, and will be able to give my impression in about 7-8 months, I guess...LOL

SC
Sigproshooter
Silent But Deadly

Post by Sigproshooter »

Well,, because the cartridge is SO small I would venture