Probable idiotic question

Be careful -- low-volume ratio loads can detonate. Mangement not responsible for load data. Use at your own risk.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

mollinst
Industry Professional

Probable idiotic question

Post by mollinst »

I have no experience with reloading though, I hope to experiment with it at some point. In the meantime, would it be completely asinine to put tarnished *live* ammo in a tumbler to clean it up?

My thinking is that the tumbling speed should be low enough not to allow one cartridge to develop enough ft/lbs to discharge another, but then, I get a creepy feeling that this could also put me in the running for a Darwin award.

Bill
Bendersquint
Industry Professional

Re: Probable idiotic question

Post by Bendersquint »

Bill,

Dry tumbling wont impact loaded ammo, most of the ammo manufacturers tumble loaded rounds before packaging.

Just no wet tumbling.
ronin111
Silent But Deadly

Post by ronin111 »

Some people theorize that tumbling live ammo could break down the powder which could affect burn rate. It's one thing to tumble rounds for a few minutes to remove lube but it's another to run it for an hour or more to remove tarnish. Personally, I wouldn't bother tumbling tarnished ammo as it would only be for cosmetic reasons.
Bendersquint
Industry Professional

Post by Bendersquint »

ronin111 wrote:Some people theorize that tumbling live ammo could break down the powder which could affect burn rate. It's one thing to tumble rounds for a few minutes to remove lube but it's another to run it for an hour or more to remove tarnish. Personally, I wouldn't bother tumbling tarnished ammo as it would only be for cosmetic reasons.
I tested that theory a number of years ago with a chrony. I loaded 100 rounds tumbled 50 of them for a week straight and tested them over a chrony i didnt notice any change in velocities at all. Tested with 9mm and 5.56mm.

Not entirely scientific but good enough for me.
mollinst
Industry Professional