Help me build my first .223 sub load please!

Be careful -- low-volume ratio loads can detonate. Mangement not responsible for load data. Use at your own risk.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

jamesrm

Help me build my first .223 sub load please!

Post by jamesrm »

I am new to reloading for the rifle, and followed the recommendations on what to get here, I have the Lee press kit, all the trimmings recommended, and the Redding 3 die set.

I have a Novenske SBR 12.5 in, 1:7 twist.

What is the heaviest bullet I can push through that? What kind of powder should I use and any idea about the charge I should start with?

I have the Lee book on the way, but if anyone wanted to take the time to run down the basic process, I would be appreciative.

Thanks!
the_accuser
Silent But Deadly

Re: Help me build my first .223 sub load please!

Post by the_accuser »

The ones I loaded were straight from Hodgdon's Reloading site, http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp, Hornday 55gr FMJ with 4.0gr of Trailboss.

Accurate Powder used to list a few loads on their website but I haven't seem them lately. Hornady 55gr FMJ with 3.5gr of their S1250 powder and Hornady 75gr HPBT with 4.5gr S1250.

Jason
jamesrm

Post by jamesrm »

Cool. Maybe you can come to my place in Hendersonville sometime when I get the stuff in and crank out some rounds with me.
the_accuser
Silent But Deadly

Post by the_accuser »

jamesrm wrote:Cool. Maybe you can come to my place in Hendersonville sometime when I get the stuff in and crank out some rounds with me.
Sure thing, I'm getting ready to crank out some rounds in a few minutes. Hit me up when your ready.

Jason
-k-
Industry Professional

Post by -k- »

You are not expecting a subsonic load that cycles the action are you?
jamesrm

Post by jamesrm »

You mean your upper won't do that??? That is the whole reason I bought it!!!!!!

Kidding, of course ;)