Potential Issues With NFA Item Ownership on Active Duty

2nd Amendment and Freedom

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

LinuxForLife

Potential Issues With NFA Item Ownership on Active Duty

Post by LinuxForLife »

First off, I would like to thank the Silencer Talk community for any help they are able to provide or any questions that they are able to answer. I am currently active duty Army, stationed at Ft. Campbell with the 101st. I have established residency in the state of Tennessee, but currently reside on post. I have been looking at purchasing a suppressor or two when I return from my deployment to Afghanistan, and I'm not entirely sure of the potential issues associated with it.

Since my current address of residence is on Ft. Campbell itself, which is considered by its postal code to be the state of Kentucky, and as previously stated I am a Tennessee resident (with a valid resident CHP), would there be issues when I fill out my Form 4? Secondly, as I am sure many of you here are aware, the potential to get re-assigned to another post is fairly high. Would I be required to update my Form 4 if I am reassigned to another state, or would it remain the same, so long as my Tennessee residency remained valid? Also, one addendum to that thought - if I relocate to housing off post in the Clarksville area, would I also be required to update my Form 4?

Secondly, given my situation, would it be better to fill out my Form 4 as part of a legal trust, or as an individual purchase? I am fairly certain that there are other forum members here who are also active duty and have faced a similar situation with their NFA items.

Again, I appreciate any help in this matter, even if its only so much as to point me to the right people to ask.
FA Gunner
Silent Operator

Re: Potential Issues With NFA Item Ownership on Active Duty

Post by FA Gunner »

I bought two suppressors while I was at Campbell and living on post.