TiRant 45

Company specific discussions and announcements.

Moderator: SilentMike

hkusp40

TiRant 45

Post by hkusp40 »

Folks,

I apologize if this has been talked about in the past but I am still having trouble finding definitive information even after months of researching the internet. I am new to class 3 items and currently have a TiRant in tax stamp purgatory (3 months and waiting). The model that my dealer had in stock that I purchased was a sealed unit. It came with the old style user card. I emailed AAC with the serial number (TR45 2XXX) to see it it was a take apart type and they simply sent me a disassembly tool. Based on this, I figured that it was a take apart type, so I went back to the dealer to try taking it apart and it will not come apart. I am now convinced that it is sealed with either rockset or locktite. I will put maybe 1,500 to 2,000 rounds per year through it in 45ACP (FMJ only) and 9mm (FMJ only). My questions are:

1. Should I jailbreak it so it can be cleaned?

2. If so, does the boiling water method really work or should I soak it in PB Blaster or what method works best?

3. Can I simply put a cork in the end of it and fill it with hoppes 9 (or other cleaner?) and let it sit for a day or two to dissolve the crud?

4. Am I worrying about nothing and should simply shoot it and not worry about disassembling and cleaning it any further than the piston/spring?

5. Will AAC jailbreak this for me? If not who does?

Again, I appreciate your patience and guidance. -Ger
rimshaker
Silent But Deadly

Re: TiRant 45

Post by rimshaker »

All Tirants are take-apart. It's just a matter of how tight the endcap was assembled at the factory. Or if perhaps Loctite was used.

My Tirant 45 has a 3xxx serial# and all it took was some muscle to finally budge the endcap. No Loctite was applied to mine.

Easiest way is to secure the disassembly tool in a vice (pins facing up).