AAC 51T Mount? Are they good?

Company specific discussions and announcements.

Moderator: SilentMike

Falcon03

Re: AAC 51T Mount? Are they good?

Post by Falcon03 »

I have a 762SD 51T mount that I have only shot once so far. I did have some backlash because I could not reach the next tooth.
I turned it as tight as I could get it by hand. At the end of the day I went to remove the can and found that it did not back off, it was in the same tight position as when I started shooting. It seems that the carbon from shooting locked it in place.
I have never read about this before but in my case it does not seem to be a problem. My shot groups were tighter with the can on which seems to be the norm with cans.
66427vette
Silent But Deadly

Post by 66427vette »

aac mounts are nice but it is no red jacket. :D
JasonM
Silent But Deadly

Post by JasonM »

Goes2Eleven wrote:I have seen posts about people having 51T mounts that don't snug up, etc. and have even heard of POI shift being inconsistent due to this. I have also read of the ratchet on the silencer wearing out.

Is the AAC mounting system a good one, or is it possible or even likely that only 1 or 2 positions on my MITER system will lock up tight? Are people who are having issues just being weenies and not cranking down on the can a bit to get it to the next tooth?

I've already bought my AAC, just waiting on it to get here, and am having a bit of mental anguish over the volume of posts on this and other sites about the ratchet mounting method.
The 51T mount is very good. You tighten the can as far as possible, then back it off to the next closest tooth and go to town. consistent POI shift, easy removal. The ratchet latch wear is a non-issue, it'll wear, but very very rarely wear out. If it ever did, AAC will replace it.

what you describe is possible on the Miter system, but should not affect function. It will certainly affect sitting-on-your-couch-over-thinking, but not function on the range. ;)