Silencers with Piston or turbine mechanisms

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

Mincer

Silencers with Piston or turbine mechanisms

Post by Mincer »

Hello all,
I'm a noob here and currently live in a silencer-free zone (Chicago), however I'll be moving to Florida this coming summer and am eagerly awaiting my chance to legally purchase and use suppressors. One day, I'd like to try my hand at building my own. As a general firearm enthusiast (Long range precision shooting is my thing) I've always had an interest in suppressors and have a few ideas rolling around in my head lately about building a better mousetrap. I wish I'd been interested years ago when my father owned a machine shop and I had access to all the manufacturing equipment I could dream of, but better late than never.
Enough with the introductions...
My apologies if this information is already out there, but like I said, I'm a noob and my usual Googling came up short. Most suppressors tend to operate on more or less the same principles of using a series of baffles to capture and delay release of rapidly expanding gasses. While there are variations on the shape or number of baffles, the "mechanism" is very simple and essentially the same. My question is, why are there no silencers with moving parts inside? Is the fouling and heat so extreme that it's too unreliable? Here are the ideas that I would like to explore:

1) I always thought that someone would come out with a spring loaded "Piston" type expansion chamber that could get pushed open by the backflow of the blast and then spring forward back into place. Stoeger makes an integrally suppressed airgun (X20) with a barrel/suppressor concept like this. Couldn't this mechanism also supply the energy to cycle the weapon replacing a standard gas tube or piston?