bushwhacker 46 vs optimus 9 silencer

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

Robkiller

bushwhacker 46 vs optimus 9 silencer

Post by Robkiller »

I am new to buying a silencers, i use them for work but never had to buy one for myself. I want a universal one for handguns and rifles. 9m 40 cal 308 556. I hear a lot of good things about these but can't find anyone that does a comparison. I cant really tell much of a difference.

bushwhacker 46 gen2
optimus 9

Whats the difference and what do you folks recommend?

Thanks
whiterussian1974
Silent But Deadly

Re: bushwhacker 46 vs optimus 9 silencer

Post by whiterussian1974 »

If you want a "universal" you will get the worst of all possible results.

Rifles need strong, heavy structures.
Pistols need light weight in order to be able to cycle.

In order to have one light enough to cycle on a pistol, it will need to barely have any performance on a rifle.
For it to be strong enough to handle rifle, this means that it will need to have barely any baffles, means piss poor suppression on any platform.

Many ppl have 3 "universal" suppressors. 1 for each "class."
Rifle, pistol, rimfire.

Otherwise, the results are basically a 2-3 chamber moderator. Maybe 12 dB, instead of 32dB of value.

(Links also help when you want for us to compare products for you. Make things tough for us to work for YOU, and you'll get poor results, if any, from US.)
The Darkest Corners of Hell are reserved for those who remain Neutral!-Dante
The Death of One is a Tragedy, a million only a statistic.-Stalin
silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=135314
whiterussian1974
Silent But Deadly

The MNFR doesn't even post any SPL dB stats:

Bushwacker has 10 and Optimus has 5-6 apparently identical baffles. So it seems like the Bush 46 might perform better.