Looking for lowish cost .22 can to get started

General silencer discussion. If you want to talk about a specific silenced rifle or pistol, it is best to do that in the rifle or pistol section for that brand.

All NFA laws apply.

Moderators: mpallett, mr fixit, bakerjw, renegade

psween

Looking for lowish cost .22 can to get started

Post by psween »

I'm new to this aspect of shooting, and I'm sure these questions have been answered, but the search function seems to be broken. In any case, I'm looking to get my first suppressor, and will stick to .22 LR for now. Not much has been mentioned about the lower cost offerings out there. I understand with the $200 stamp you don't want to waste it on an inferior product, but what about the Rebel cans? It seems they are effective and cost effective for .22 use. I just can't see paying 4-500 for a .22 can. I am an engineer, and have some machining experience, so if I still had access to a machine shop I'd build one, but I don't. That said, I can't figure out how it can cost so much to build one that a manufacturer can justify $400 plus for essentially an aluminum tube with some cones and threads. So, am I all wrong? Can a decent .22 suppressor be had for under $200? If not, why not? Help a clueless new guy out. My goal is quiet pest control with a Savage rifle, with the ability to work on a .22 pistol an added bonus down the line. Thanks,

Patrick
whiterussian1974
Silent But Deadly

Re: Looking for lowish cost .22 can to get started

Post by whiterussian1974 »

Only homemade F1s are under $200.

Reason: Overhead, real estate, capital improvements, government regulation, regulatory compliance, taxes/fees, lawyers, insurance, employees, etc.

Buy a $20 "fuel filter" from China and then make it yourself + $200 ATF tax stamp.
The Darkest Corners of Hell are reserved for those who remain Neutral!-Dante
The Death of One is a Tragedy, a million only a statistic.-Stalin
silencertalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=135314
0101silent