.223 Subsonic 'problem'

Be careful -- low-volume ratio loads can detonate. Mangement not responsible for load data. Use at your own risk.

Moderators: mpallett, bakerjw

WhisperFan
Silent But Deadly

.223 Subsonic 'problem'

Post by WhisperFan »

I'm working on load development and I have noticed something very unusual going on with a .223 subsonic round I am working up

First, my method: I weigh the charge using a RCBS 750 electronic scale. I have found that my scale doesn't like to hold its zero, so I pour my charge into another powder pan, zero the scale and weigh it again.
Then I pour it into a RCBS 1010 beam scale to double check it.

I don't use this method for regular reloading, but when I am making 5 or 10 of one charge, then 5 or 10 of another, I take extra care to ensure that the charges were as identical as I can make them.

The powder is all from the same 8lb keg I have been working from for a couple years now. This powder yields very stable results from my 300/221 (300 Whisper)

The firearm is an AR-15 SBR with a 11.5" barrel 1:9 twist. No modifications have been made to the gas system. It is a D.I. with a carbine length gas system. The subsonic rounds do not cycle the action, making this into a 'straight pull' bolt gun. The firearm is suppressed with my Form 1 can.

I shoot one shot across the chronograph, record the speed, pull the charging handle, ensure I am not pointing at the face of chronograph, and pull the trigger. From one shot to the next is perhaps 15 to 20 seconds ... I load the magazine for the next load and start over. The time in between finishing one group of the same powder charge and starting the next was perhaps a minute or two (if that matters)

The components are: Hornady V-Max 55gr Moly Coated, Primers are CCI Small rifle, Powder is IMR TrailBoss. The cases are Winchester .223